top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelly Hinseth

UPDATE: Five Months Post TV...


My dog (Wally) and I did a Christmas photo shoot in November cause why the heck not. Courtesy: @lullephoto


"What are you most proud of in your first few months of work?"


I thought hard, trying to think of the best response to my team lead's question at my newish job during my quarterly review.


The PR answer would have been something along the lines of: "I have felt so challenged and have learned so much, I am most proud of this certain client project I got to work on..."


Instead, I just answered it honestly.

"I am most proud of the fact that I've been able to show up every day."


That led to a lengthy discussion about work-life balance, mental health and why leaving TV news has been one of the best decisions I have ever made.


DISCLAIMER: this is not a plead to "please leave journalism." My best friend is KILLING it as a crime and homicide reporter in Indianapolis. She better have a pretty damn-good reason to leave the industry, should she ever decide to do so.


And I know SO MANY others that continue to rock their beats every single day.


This is to share my story and my experience and why the pivot into public relations was a necessary for me if I was going to survive.


When I arrived home to my parents house in late-October of 2021, I knew my rhythms and patterns in life needed


a COMPLETE overhaul.


- I let go of some friendships that needed to be severed.


- I donated/sold off 50% of my wardrobe and continue to declutter.


- I joined the local YMCA and forced myself into at least three group exercise classes a week in order to congregate amongst other humans.


- I adhered (mostly) to going into my office twice a week. As much as WFH provides flexibility, extreme-extrovert-Kelly needs to be able to bother her coworkers in person.


- I made a doctor's appointment and have addressed a multitude of health issues that I have absolutely avoided for the last few years.


- I designated time to grieve. I set aside time to quite literally just sit and cry with God, my Father.


- I threw out my scale.


- I said "no" to a lot of things with the sole goal to spend time with my mom and dad. Trying my best to support them on my mom's brain cancer journey.


I am most proud of the fact that I am sitting on my couch on a Wednesday night at 11:22 p.m. watching The Olympics. I am proud that I am still here.


My worst nightmare came true in the fall when my mom's cancer treatment caused her to lose all cognitive function. For what felt like an eternity, my sweet mom wasn't here. I got a glimpse into a life without her on earth. And it was hell.


Thankfully, the good Lord is letting her stick around for a little while longer. So she gets to see me fall in love with both a new career and a person who has become my person.


I am proud that I showed up. I am proud that I got my millionth second-chance at God's grace.

164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page